the owl and the pussy cat

What is a limerick, Mother?
It’s a form of verse, said brother
In which lines one and two
Rhyme with five when it’s through
And three and four rhyme with each other.

Author unknown.

We have Edward Lear, of “The Owl and the Pussy Cat” poem, to thank for limericks.Β  They are fun, and the most concise way of telling a story!

Fancy trying to write one? πŸ˜€

The form is explained in the anonymous poem above: lines one, two and five rhyme with each other, lines three and four rhyme with each other.Β  While it’s a little harder than you might think at first glance, it’s such an enjoyable way to torment yourself, and the end product can amuse, (or infuriate πŸ˜‰ ) or charm your friends!

If you decide to try your hand at writing a limerick;

1. Post it on your blog

2. Leave a comment here with a link to the post

3. Check the links in the comments, and explore what creative genius is out there!

If you don’t have a blog,Β  you can leave your limerick in the comments here: we’ll still get to enjoy it! Contributions from children in the family are also welcome πŸ™‚

Here’s one I prepared before hand. It was written about my friend, Susan, when I was trying to win my way back into the running for some delectable choc cherry-ripe cake…

There once was a board shepherdess

Who was, I have to confess

A little verbose

but her words were a dose

of instruction inclined to bless!

(There is an alternative reading for the fourth and fifth line, in honour of her Mafia connections, oops! Italian name, which reads..but her words were you know-se ..very inclined to bless)

And this for my friend, Vimal, who has been such an encouragement to me on my Urban Daisy blog.

I have a friend across the sea

Who writes some clever poetry

He writes so fine

That I think mine

Is not fit for him to seeΒ  πŸ˜›Β  πŸ˜‰

All right, friends; READY, STEADY…..WRITE! πŸ˜€




