I used to count it as loss that I was born too late to be a suffragette.   In more recent years, as a Christian,  I have come to question even my current level of political activism, such as it is.  What should my motivation be?

I am not one to campaign about environmental issues. (There’s way too much hot air blowing about in the green camp: and I’m not referring to the effects of “global warming”).  The issues closer to my heart have always involved protecting the safety and innocence of children, and the sanctity of marriage.

There appears to be two camps in Christendom, who are at odds with each other on the responsibilities of a Christian voter.  On the one hand, there is the idea that to vote for any man who is advocating anything but a completely Christian way of life, is to condone the sin, and be in part responsible. I have some sympathy with that line of thought, only in that I could not vote for a candidate who was pro-abortion, and should I be left with only such candidates to chose from, I would be left to throw my hands in the air and wear the fine for not voting.

On the other side of the coin is the passionate protester who believes the voice of the people will be heard. They believe that we should be actively voicing objections to the degeneration of morality in lawmaking policy.  I’m maybe getting too many miles up to hold much hope for this camp. I’ve been involve in the government’s education review process in years past, where consultation with the community was touted as an influencing factor in the decision processes.  What was the outcome of the year long review?  Certainly there was nothing implemented in the new legislation that reflected the concerns of the citizens present at the forums.

On a local and state level, I am continually astounded at the boldness of the government to make moves effecting health and education contra to the will of those most concerned.

So what’s a girl to do?  Does this seem a strange time to pull out the phrase, “Sola Scriptura!”? What does the Word have to say about the church (collective) and politics, and the Christian (individual) and politics?

I see no direct command to involve either the collective or the individual in matters of civil lawmaking.  Example then, is the next benchmark: or it would be, if only it could be found. Did Jesus leave us any example of becoming involved in the political issues of the day?  Did he campaign for rights, or against ungodly legislation, or stage political protests?

When I searched the scriptures in the hopes of gaining a greater understanding on this issue, political activism was conspicuous by it’s absence. In examples of society abandoning Godly principles, we read that God gave them over to evil desires. (Romans 1)  What is the church called to do at such times?  What is the antidote for a sick society?  It is the gospel of Christ Jesus.  This alone will change the hearts of men.

Do Christians have rights, and should we fight for them?  Our obligation is not make this place comfortable for us now by petitioning governments: it is to declare the full gospel Christ.  If Christ could go to the cross without a word of defence,  should I, who am chief of sinners, be crying for my rights?

