Being reminded of other people’s suffering has never made me feel better about my own. Reading of Job’s suffering did not result in a flood of gratitude that I was not in the same situation.

However, what did make me sit up and take notice, was reading God’s question to Satan at the beginning of the book. Job 1:8 “The the Lord said to Satan,

“Have you considered my servant Job, that there is none like him on the earth, a blameless and upright man, one who fears God and shuns evil?”

There is a lot about that verse that I find remarkable. I could spend the whole post just marveling on the implications of the conversation between God and Satan! But what most specifically made me view difficulty in a new light, was thinking how would I feel, should God ever say, “Behold my servant BeyondBluestockings” (of course, that is not what God really calls me, but you get the idea).

When I think I can no longer endure, when I am frustrated about someone’s behaviour, or a set of circumstances, or my own ill health, or any other thing that makes me inclined to give vent to my baser feelings, I am convicted by that verse, “Behold my servant…”

Can I willingly shame God, regardless of the provocation? How this has made me stop and think! When I consider the reason we were created, (for His glory) every opportunity to reflect His glory comes not when my life is going along swimmingly, but in times of trouble and grief.

Oh, that I could say with Job,

“Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him: but I will maintain mine own ways before him.”

