Scrumptious and playful, this is a dish to try when you need a culinary distraction. Tonight was my first ever attempt, so if you’re an old hand at it, just wink at my novice faux pas.

Here’s what you need;

  • 4 tablespoons of butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 4 not too ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup rum
  • 1/2 cup butterscotch schnapps (you are supposed to use banana liqueur here, but I like butterscotch)
  • 3 tablespoons of lemon juice
  • ice-cream to serve

The how to;

  1. Prepare the bananas. I didn’t do this first, and risked my sauce turning to caramel while I did so.
  2. Melt the butter in a heavy pan, with the sugar and spices, stirring until sugar is dissolved.


3. Add the bananas, and cook a minute or so each side. Less ripe bananas will cope with this process without looking wilted.

4. After cooking both sides, pour in the alcohol, and ask your trusty assistant, or a near by adult to light it for you. (and remember to turn the flash on your camera OFF if you want to take a photo!)

5. When the alcohol is burned out, stir in the lemon juice. Serve with ice-cream.

No picture? We forgot about blogging, and seriously tucked into this treat, all the while telling my “responsible mother” persona that bananas are good for you, and therefor the dish is not completely without redemption from a nutritional standpoint.

If you would like to read how to make this dish by someone who sounds like they may have done it a time or two before, Chuck Taggart from New Orleans sounds like a candidate.

If your inner raw foodie objects to cooking up the bananas and adding sugar, try making a smoothie with the banana, cinnamon, ice-cream and schnapps in a blender. This is very good.

If your inner reformed theologian objects to the alcohol, or you want to share the smoothie with the children, banana, ice-cream and maple syrup is great, or substitute the ice-cream for regular cream. Mmmm.

Finally, while I don’t normally run credits at the end of my posts, I feel I owe some recognition to;

My sweetie husband, for cleaning up at the end of this experiment.

The love of my life (yes, still my husband) for recently purchasing me a set of gloriously inspiring new cookware.

My hero (I bet you can’t guess who!) for lighting the pan when I was too chicken.

Enjoy folks!

