Have you ever found yourself in the position of being about to use a word, the perfect word for the context, but you pull up short when you remember you have never heard it pronounced out loud?

Having been educated during the time of the abominable “Look-Say” literacy experiment, my ability to sound out words that contain unusual sound combinations is almost non-existent.

As a voracious reader since early primary, it was easier to just make up a pronunciation to use in my head, for a tough word, rather than bother one of the (also reading and cranky if interrupted) adults in my world. I never really kicked the habit.

Of course this can give me cause to blush occasionally, when I let slip one of the words I have created to “make do with” so as not to slow down the story. Until now, I have been trying them out on my husband whenever I consciously remembered one. Once he gets over the laughing fit, we’re good. Really.

You can only imagine my joy at stumbling across….

http://www.thefreedictionary.com/

How completely cool is this site? Not just word games (something I can waste hours on) but…..wait for it……..an AUDIO dictionary!! I will no longer cause dh to snort his cornflakes through his nose when I mispronounce something I have read incorrectly. Breakfast will never be the same again.

