How do you define church? What are the essentials to agree on? Just how closely aligned should the doctrine and theology of a group of believers be to what you believe, in order to fulfill the directive of Paul in Ephesians 4?

“There is one body and one Spirit, just as also you were called in one hope of your calling; one Lord, one faith, one baptism; one God and Father of all who is over all and through all and in all.”

Baptism is one of only two ordinances our Lord gave to the church. I won’t even start on what I think we’ve done to the other one, time enough for that another day. But how did we come to this pass, where genuine, God fearing men cannot agree on the practice and purpose of baptism?

More to the point – what’s a girl to do about it when in conflict with men of far superior understanding and more letters after their names than you can shake a stick at?

Thankfully, they are gracious, Godly men, inclined to teach me patiently despite my unending questions and challenges to the ideas put forth. I would like to share in subsequent posts some of my questions, and the answers I have been given, in the form of letters, as they transpired. Ideally, I would like to say it is in the hopes of encouraging others to study the subject. The more truthful statement would be though, that I have never enjoyed suffering alone!

I just can’t get past….one baptism…..one baptism……

