The greatest love a man can have is to lay down his life for his friends.

When I was born, I was innocent. As I grew in knowledge and understanding, I lived as though there was no moral law given by God. I did not acknowledge my Creator, I lied, was envious and disobeyed my parents. As a result of this, I was destined for judgment by a pure and holy God.

Because God is holy, just and righteous, I could not escape judgment by any thing I could do for myself. Just the same as if you were a murderer, no just and righteous judge in our judicial system would overlook your murder, on the grounds that you also gave to charity, or had a remarkable talent, or volunteered in an old people’s home. None of those things, great as they may be, changes the fact that you committed a crime. Not even the man next to you having committed 100 crimes, makes you any less culpable for the one crime you committed. In this same way, even though I may take note of others who also sinned, it didn’t change my status as a sinner, a criminal in God’s system, having broken His laws.

There was nothing I could do to save myself from the punishment that justice required. However, Jesus Christ came as a man to live amongst us; He lived a sinless life and died as a sacrifice in our place. No greater love, no greater love, no greater love hath any man, than a man lay down his life for his friends.

How do I avail myself of the greatest gift of all, the gift of life and a pardon, of mercy, and not just these, though they are precious, but adoption as sons and daughters of the living God? Repent and believe.

Turn completely from my life of living for myself. Believe in Jesus as the only way of salvation, the Son of God slain for the sins of men, who took upon Himself the wrath of a holy God, that we be spared the judgment due us and eternal separation from God.

Isn’t He marvelous? Isn’t He worthy of our praise? How marvelous He is!

Psalm 8:3,4

When I consider thy heavens, the work of thy fingers, the moon and the stars, which thou hast ordained;

What is man, that thou art mindful of him? and the son of man, that thou visitest him?

