Augustine suffers the indignity

Hello dear bloggy friends!

You know this already.  But I still have to say…

I have the best blogging friends in the world. :D

The Bluestocking household were invited to spend Christmas at the farm of a certain blogging friend whom I will call Ms H.   Ms H invited us to stay a few days so we could be woken up each night by dogs and roosters and frogs, oops, no.. um.. It was so we could be waterbombed and shot at by small boys with nerf guns,   (It’s awful when posts will write themselves!) One more try…  She invited us to stay so we could grow corpulent and happy eating delectable baked chocolate cheesecake and roast dinners and homemade caramel slice…  (That is the honest to God truth.)

While I’m tempted to tell you a bunch of funny stories about things that went on during our stay,  and the many fun activities Ms H involved us in, I really want to share something that I thought was as sweet as pie.

Christmas in Australia is hot.  (That’s not the sweet part!).  Children were in the pool, or stalking us with water-bombs, grown-ups were sitting in the shade in that lazy, Christmas-arvo kind of mood. A fellow guest brought out a red, wrap around skirt her husband had made for her, with the view to embroidering flowers around the hem. And here’s the sweet thing: she invited everyone to join her.  Can you imagine?! It was so lovely of her to share her new skirt! A bunch of little girls felt ten feet tall being able to help in such an endeavour, and of course conversation flowed more easily because we were working on a project together.

The experience was so inclusive. Coupled with Ms H’s ability to entertain eight overnight house guests without developing a nervous twitch, it has caused me to re-think how I try to make people feel special.  When I entertain, I plan and plan and stress and stress about it being perfect. Why? Because I want it to be special.  But this visit has shown me that being relaxed, and allowing people to be a part of your life is what actually makes an experience special.  Happy realisation! :-)

Thank you, Ms H and family for opening your hearts and home to a bunch of city folk! ♥

sewing cirlcle

And now, friends, I offer you  Lies People Tell about Chickens and the Joy of Good Friends…. The Sequel! Yes.  Because there is a lot I have to tell you about chickens (and good friends), that the unwary ought to know.  For example: have I told you I have geese?  I do.  Adorable things, geese. Lookie…

goslings

A dear friend gave these to me, and when they are good, they are very, very good, and when they are bad.. well, they are certainly naughty.  Just like puppies, they get bored if you don’t play with them. Then they find something to play with that you’d rather they didn’t. But as my geese are well  loved  and frequently cuddled, I had opportunity to notice giant, prehistoric looking insects crawling on them. Really, really big insects.  Horrid looking things.

I looked on-line. I rang the vet. I determined to rid my geese of what turned out to be (shhhh…. they are still embarrassed about it.. ) lice. Uh huh.  My geese had nits.

I turned to my trusty, farm wise friend, Ms H.  She informed me that a dunking of the geese AND the chickens was necessary, told me what to buy, where to buy it, and blithely instructed me to fill something with water and pop the birds in.

Well.  This is where I tell you the truth about friends, AND birds who need to be dunked.  Friends who give you chickens, and say that those chickens need to be dunked, and imply that the process is not going to endanger your very life or at least your sanity, are Not Quite Being Truthful.

chook dip   my day

After repeating this process on three geese and four chickens, I spent days wafting the aroma of  freshly washed puppy wherever I went.  Fleas, lice, and probably man-eating crocodiles if I encounter them, will melt before me in a three mile radius for weeks to come, I’m sure, so saturated was I in the “kill any baddies” wash. The moral of this story is that friends who lead you to believe that your birds getting lice is no big deal, are telling whoppers, and that should you ever find yourself in that lamentable circumstance, wear a raincoat! (and goggles, and gumboots, and… )

And that’s it folks.  I hope you are all enjoying  time with family and friends over the holidays. Stay safe!

